OMA Acknowledges Its Committee Leaders

Posted on Thursday September 06, 2018
As a member-driven organization, the Ontario Mining Association (OMA) depends on the work of volunteers who serve on our committees. These committees provide a forum for OMA to address an array of critical issues and opportunities facing our community. They are integral to accomplishing the association's goals and ensuring that our strategy matches members' needs.
OMA committees are comprised of individuals who represent a cross-section of the membership, and bring diverse expertise and ideas to the table. Harnessing the collective strength of our highly engaged members is the core of our success - and nothing boosts a committee's efforts like a knowledgeable, dedicated, constructive and focused leader. In that regard, the OMA benefits from the guidance and mentorship of exceptional committee chairs and vice chairs. We would like to acknowledge the ongoing work of the following individuals:
  • Derek Budge, Director - Health, Safety and Environment at The Redpath Group; Chair of OMA's Mining Rules Committee and Employer co-Chair of the Mining Legislative Review Committee
  • Chantal Clement, Director, Environment, Canada & US at Goldcorp; Past Chair of OMA's Environment Committee
  • Travis Desormeaux, HSE Projects Superintendent, Detour Gold; Chair of OMA's Environment Committee
  • Donna Kirkpatrick, Group Leader - Claims at Vale; Chair of OMA's Workers' Compensation and Occupational Health Committee
  • Peter Larsen, Vice President International Safety, Sales & Marketing, KAL Tire Mining; Chair of OMA's Communications and Outreach Committee
  • Frank Pilkington, Maintenance Superintendent, Fraser Mine, Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations (Glencore); Chair of OMA's Hoist Plant Committee
  • Roger Souckey, Director, CSR & HR Coffee Project at Goldcorp; Chair of OMA's Indigenous Relations Committee
In addition, we welcome the following recently appointed committee leaders:
  • Mark Deans, Environmental Coordinator at Goldcorp; Vice Chair of OMA's Environment Committee
  • Marc Lauzier, Mine General Manager, Porcupine Gold Mines, Goldcorp; Chair of OMA's Mine Managers' Committee
  • John Mullally, VP, Corporate Affairs and Energy at Goldcorp; Chair of OMA's Energy, Innovation & Clean Technology Committee
  • Angie Robson, Manager, Corporate & Aboriginal Affairs at Vale; Vice Chair of OMA's Communications and Outreach Committee
  • Darren Toner, HSE Manager for Sudbury Operations at KGHM; Chair of OMA's Safety and Training Committee
As well, we wish to thank the following members, who have completed their official role with a committee, for their dedicated service: 
  • Edward Pieterse, Manager, Health, Safety and Training at Kidd Operations, a Glencore Company; Chair of OMA's Mine Managers' Committee
  • George Shields, Electrical & Instrumentation Superintendent & Energy Manager at De Beers Canada; Chair of OMA's Energy Committee
  • Fred St. Jean, Manager, Safety and Occupational Health at Vale; Chair of OMA's Safety and Training Committee
  • Derek Teevan, SVP Corporate and Aboriginal Affairs at Detour Gold Corporation, Vice Chair of OMA's Indigenous Relations Committee
We are deeply grateful to the professionals listed above for agreeing to devote their valuable time and considerable skills to making us more effective at advocating for the industry and ensuring Ontario remains a world leader in mining.