This Challenge offered Ontario University students a chance to solve a real-life mining challenge, win $15,000 or more, and gain invaluable exposure to industry leaders.

Students from three Ontario universities: University of Toronto (Lassonde Institute of Mining), Queen's University (Robert M. Buchan Department of Mining) and Laurentian University (Bharti School of Engineering), competed to offer the best concept plan to address the question posed in a case study written by an OMA member expert panel. The panel selected three finalists (one from each participating university), who pitched their idea to a group of top mining executives in front of a live audience. Participants got to:

  • Meet with CEOs or CFOs of mining companies.
  • Engage with industry experts and get valuable feedback on their work.
  • Create commercialization potential for their idea and improve their career prospects.
  • Drive changes within a vital industry to address global challenges and create economic growth.

2018 Competition

Watch highlights from the 2018 Dragons' Den style finale, held at the Art Gallery of Ontario:

screenshot of MINED highlights video

Watch the full 2018 Dragon's Den Style competition:

screenshot of MINED full Dragon's Den video

The following videos were featured at the live event on May 27, 2018:

MINED 2018 Innovation Challenge

Changing Mines

MINED Dragons 2018

In 2018, the MINED "Dragons," who included Jon Gill, an Independent Director of Kirkland Lake Gold, Patrick Merrin, Senior Vice President of Goldcorp's Canada Operations, and Peter Xavier, the Vice President of Glencore's Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations, selected the following winners:

First Place ($15,000): Northern Mined Operations - Laurentian University* Liam Anderson 
* Anthony Farrugia, 
* Michael Janakaraj 

Second Place ($10,000): A Lasting Impact - Laurentian University* Shivam Sharma
Third Place ($5,000): Better Built Belts - Queen's University
* Curtis Dykstra 
* James Fortune 
* Samuel Grant 
* Ryan Mahon 
* Jeff Wright

In addition, the $5,000 Audience Choice Prize went to Northern Mined Operations - Laurentian University.  

Left to right: Anthony Farrugia, Michael Janakaraj (First place and Audience Choice); Shiv Sharma (Second place); James Fortune and Samuel Grant (Third place)

2017 Competition

Watch highlights from the 2017 Dragons' Den style finale, held at the Hockey Hall of Fame:

Watch the full 2017 Dragon's Den Style competition:

The following videos were featured at the live event on June 14, 2017:

MINED Dragons 2017

In 2017, the MINED "Dragons", who included Jennifer Maki, CEO of ValeTony Makuch, President and CEO of Kirkland Lake Gold, and Steve Thomas, CFO of Goldcorp's Canada Operations, selected the following winners:

First Place ($15,000): Pipe Dreams - Laurentian University* Joshua Fortes
* Alex MacInnes
* Adam Grinbergs
* Liam Dunn
* Muhammad Syed
* Justin So
Second Place ($10,000): The Next Phase - Laurentian University* Sarah Bulanda
* Peter Gazaes
* Patrick Lamontagne
Third Place ($5,000): Safe Through Sound (STS) - University of Toronto* Yoko Yanagimura
* Marina Reny
* Matt Hart
* Justin Samardzic

MINED 2017 winners

In addition, the $5,000 Audience Choice Prize went to The Next Phase - Laurentian University. 

Left to right: Liam Dunn, Justin So, Alex MacInnes, Muhammad Syed, Joshua Fortes and Adam Grinbergs of Laurentian University’s Pipe Dreams team.