Best Overall Entry

Lego Mining

David DeLong
Saint Benedict Catholic Secondary School

$5,000 Prize, plus $500 for the winner's school

Best Directing

More Mining, Less Problems

Max Parr
Etobicoke School of the Arts

$2,500 Prize

Best Writing (Original Screenplay)

Mining Matters

Katrina Malinski
Lockerby Composite

$2,500 Prize

Best Music (Original Score & Lyrics)

The Mining Rap

Britt Sweeting
Nancy Campbell Collegiate Institute

$2,500 Prize

Best Comedy

Ferrous Jeweler's Day Off

Mike Schryver
Woodstock Collegiate Institute

$2,500 Prize

Best Video in a Language Other Than English

Wake Up to Mining -
Éveillez-vous aux mines

Michelle Joncas-Bever
ÉSC de La Vérendrye
Thunder Bay 

$2,500 Prize

Best Animation

People's Choice

Don't Mined If I Do

Sara Johns
Central Huron Secondary School

$2,500 Prize for Best Animation
2,500 Prize for People's Choice This video received 491 out of a total of 1807 online votes. One  lucky voter, Emily Hildebrand of Seaforth, Ontario, was randomly selected during the SYTYKM awards ceremony as the winner of the voters'' prize: an iPod touch.

2010 Award Ceremony

In the second year of the SYTYKM competition, the red carpet was rolled out at the Clarion Resort Pinewood Park in North Bay. Amanda Ceniti of Brampton, whose entry was a top runner up in the competition, documented the excitement of the June 15 awards ceremony in the video posted here.

Amanda received a $500 honorarium for her work. In addition, the OMA donated $500 to her school, Georgetown District High School, to be spent on video-making equipment.

Thank you!

The SYTYKM judging process was once again imbued with the passion, professional know-how and integrity of individuals who contributed their valuable time and expertise. Thank you to Christina Blizzard, a veteran reporter and the current Queen's Park Columnist for Sun Media; Jack Blum, actor, writer, producer and co-founder of REEL Canada, which promotes Canadian films; Elvie Choi-Bhagat, Volunteer Management consultant with the Toronto International Film Festival, who has pre-screened films for both the main festival in September and the children's festival, Sprockets; Dominique Dionne, Vice President Corporate Affairs for OMA member Xstrata Nickel; and Jessica Grillanda, Coordinator of the Broadcast and New Media program at Cambrian College in Sudbury, who spoke on behalf of the panel at the SYTYKM awards ceremony.

We were once again dazzled by the star power of the award ceremony presenters. Thank you to Vern Baker, Vice President of Sudbury Operations, QuadraFNX Mining; Marc Boissonneault, Vice President of Xstrata Nickel's Sudbury Operations and incoming Ontario Mining Association Chair; George Burns, Vice President, Canada & USA, Goldcorp Canada and OMA Vice Chair; Dorothy Cayen, Vice President, Shared Services North America for Vale; Ingrid Hann, Vice President, Human Resources, De Beers Canada; Alanna Heath, Director of Government Affairs for Barrick Gold Corporation; Jacques Perron, President and CEO of St. Andrew Goldfields; Donovan Pollitt, President and CEO of Wesdome Gold Mines; Martin Rivard, President & CEO of Richmont Mines; Derek Teevan, Vice President Aboriginal and Government Affairs, Detour Gold Corporation; as well as the hosts of the event: George Flumerfelt, President and CEO of J.S. Redpath and outgoing OMA Chair, and Chris Hodgson, OMA President.

Last but not least, we would like to acknowledge the competitors, teachers, parents and online voters - everyone who gave their time, showcased their talent and expressed their opinion in the name of So You Think You Know Mining. Thank you all!