Best Overall Entry

Mining and my Community

Christian Peters
Henry Coaster Memorial School
Ogoki Post 

$5,000 Prize, plus $500 to Henry Coaster Memorial School, Ogoki Post

Best Directing

OMA Academy Award

Mined Power

Surinder Gill
Northview Heights Secondary School
North York 

$2,500 Prize for Best Directing
$2,500 Prize for OMA Academy Award

Best Writing (Original Screenplay)

This Rock

Daniel Lawson
Central Huron Secondary School

$2,500 Prize

Best Music (Original Score & Lyrics)

Mining To The Beat

Ryan Pathammavong
Resurrection Catholic Secondary School

$2,500 Prize

Best Comedy

Making A Difference Everyday

Matthew Tipold
Jean Vanier Catholic High School

$2,500 Prize

Best Video in a Language Other Than English

Señor Mining

Christian David Moreno
H.B. Beal Secondary School

$2,500 Prize

Best Animation

Mining Around Us

Andrew Heffren
Sir Wilfrid Laurier Secondary School
London Ontario 

$2,500 Prize

Honourable Mention 

Kill the Bad Will (about mining)

Laura Heidenheim
H.B. Beal Secondary School

$500 Honorarium or filming the 2013 SYTYKM Awards Ceremony, plus $500 to H.B. Beal Secondary School, London

1st Runner Up Best Video

Mining Style

Clarabelle Lee
Don Mills Collegiate Institute

$2,500 Prize

2nd Runner Up Best Video

From The Mines

Wamiq Bazaz
King's College School

$2,500 Prize

Best 30 Second Commercial

The World of Mining

Nelani Skantharajah
Danforth Collegiate and Technical Institute

$2,500 prize

People's Choice Award

The Mining Initiative

Nelani Skantharajah
Danforth CTI

$2,500 Prize
This video received 3,905 out of a total of 12,336 votes by the public.

2013 Award Ceremony

The fifth annual SYTYKM Awards Ceremony was held at the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto. Laura Heidenheim of London, whose entry received hounourable mention in the competition, documented all the glitz and glamour in the video posted here. 

In addition to the prizes listed above, there were bonus ones determined by random draw:  the $500 Early Bird Prize went to Devon Elcus-Whelan, a student at Hillcrest High School in Ottawa, while A.Y. Jackson Secondary School in North York became the 3+ School Random Draw Winner, receiving $2,000 toward the purchase of audiovisual equipment.

Thank you!

We are exceedingly grateful to the dedicated members of the SYTYKM volunteer judging panel for the passion and integrity that they bring to evaluating the efforts of our contestants. Without their professional objectivity and expertise, this competition would not be what it is. Thank you to Christina Blizzard, a veteran reporter and columnist for Sun Media; John Coulbourn, theatre, film and arts critic; James Cullingham, an award winning documentary filmmaker and the journalism program coordinator at Seneca College; Peter Fuchs, Director of Corporate Affairs at Xstrata Nickel; Katrina Gligorijevic, film critic and creative consultant at REEL Canada; Jessica Grillanda, an award-winning independent filmmaker and program coordinator for the Broadcast New Media Graduate Certificate at Cambrian College; Joanne Kearney, Vice President of Smithcom, a communications agency specializing in corporate affairs and marketing communications.

A special thank you to members of the Peer Review teamJad Abi Rafeh, Carl Alvares and Mark McDonald. They did a superb job of pre-screening all the videos and providing helpful commentary to the judges.

We were once again dazzled by the star power of the award ceremony presenters. Thank you to David Church, Mine Manager, Ojibway Mine, Canadian Salt Company; Steve Deck, Regional Vice President, North America, Boart Longyear; George Flumerfelt, President and CEO, J.S. Redpath Ltd.; Dan Gagnon, Senior Vice President of Operations, Lake Shore Gold; Luc Guimond, General Manager, AuRico Gold; Leanne Hall, Vice President of Human Resources, Noront Resources; Ingrid Hann, Vice President of Human Resources, De Beers Canada; Eric Kohtakangas, Vice President Operations, Cementation; Marc Lauzier, General Manager, Porcupine Gold Mines, Goldcorp; Melanie Martin, Senior Executive Assistant and Regional Communications Leader, Goldcorp; Eric McGoey, Director of Government and Public Affairs, Cliffs Natural Resources; Cory McPhee, Vice President, Corporate Affairs, Vale; Jacques Perron, President and CEO, St Andrew Goldfields; Larry Sparks, Human Resources Manager, Omya Canada; Kelly Strong, Vice President, Ontario/UK Operations, Vale, and incoming Chairman of the Ontario Mining Association Board of Directors; Derek Teevan, Vice President Aboriginal and Government Affairs, Detour Gold; Chris WoodallVice President, Operations Canada & US, Goldcorp; as well as the hosts of the evening: Marc Boissonneault, Vice President of Xstrata Nickel's Sudbury Operations and outgoing Chairman of the Ontario Mining Association Board of Directors; and Chris Hodgson, Ontario Mining Association President.

We appreciate the work of Ontario artist Iris L. Shields, who created unique key chains for SYTYKM Award Ceremony guests, featuring hand-crafted mica drawings of the headframe found in the OMA logo, fused in glass. More creations by the artist can be found at Unique Quality Fine Arts in New Liskeard, Ontario.

We would also like to acknowledge the awesome staff at the Royal Ontario Museum, who helped us to organize a truly memorable evening.

Thank you to the competitors, teachers, parents and online voters - everyone who gave their time, showcased their talent and made the story of Ontario mining their own.

So You Think Know Mining is a success because of the collective financial and moral support of Ontario Mining Association members. We gratefully acknowledge the support of the companies listed in the video below.