Best Overall Entry

Mining: A Musical

Amanda C.
Georgetown District High School 

$5,000 Prize,
plus $500 for Georgetown District High

Best Directing

Mining Opportunities

Meaghan Butler
London South Collegiate Institute 

$2,500 Prize

Best Writing (Original Screenplay)

Without Mining

Josiah Scott
Jean Vanier Catholic High School 

$2,500 Prize

Best Music (Original Score & Lyrics)

Mine(d) Your Business

Max Parr
Etobicoke School of the Arts 

$2,500 Prize

Best Comedy

Highschool Minebacker

Mitch Langdon
Woodstock Collegiate Institute 

$2,500 Prize

Best Video in a Language Other Than English

The Mining Prospectors

Md.Rayun Mehrab
Danforth Collegiate & Technical Institute 

$2,500 Prize

Honourable Mention 

Career Day and Mining

Daniela Carlino
Lake Superior High School 

$500 Honorarium for filming
the 2011 SYTYKM Awards Ceremony, 
plus $500 to Lake Superior High School.

1st Runner Up Best Video

What's Yours is Mined

Leah Gosselin
École Secondaire Catholique Thériault 

$1,250 Prize

2nd Runner Up Best Video


Ray Xue
Don Mills Collegiate Institute 

$1,250 Prize

Best Animation

People's Choice Award

MiningMan and the Power of Mining

Quentin Hall
H.B Beal Secondary 

$2,500 Prize for Best Animation
$2,500 Prize for Best Animation 
This video received 1013 out of a total of 4671 online votes. One lucky voter, Terry Jones of Thunder Bay, Ontario, was randomly selected during the SYTYKM awards ceremony as the winner of the voters' prize: an iPod touch.

2011 Award Ceremony

The third annual SYTYKM Awards Ceremony was held at the stunning Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto. Daniela Carlino of Terrace Bay, whose entry received hounourable mention in the competition, documented all the glitz and glamour in the video posted below. 

In addition to the prizes listed above, there were bonus ones determined by random draw: the $500 Early Bird Prize went to Morgan MacDonald, a student at Lockerby Composite in Sudbury, while Jean Vanier Catholic High School in Collingwood became the 3+ School Random Draw Winner, receiving $2,000 toward the purchase of audiovisual equipment.

Thank you!

It is difficult to put into words just how grateful we are to the dedicated members of the SYTYKM volunteer judging panel for the passion and integrity that they bring to evaluating the efforts of our contestants. Without their professional objectivity and expertise, this competition would not be what it is. Thank you to Jack Blum, actor, writer, film producer and President of REEL Canada; Christina Blizzard, a veteran reporter and columnist for Sun Media; James Cullingham, an independent movie producer and professor of film and media at Seneca College in Toronto; Dominique Dionne, Vice President Corporate Affairs at Xstrata Nickel; and Gord Nicholls, night television news anchor for CTV in Sudbury and a journalism professor at the school of communication at Cambrian College in Sudbury. A special thank you to Jack Blum, who spoke on behalf of the panel at the SYTYKM awards ceremony.

We were once again dazzled by the star power of the award ceremony presenters.  Thank you to Horacio Bruna, Senior Vice President Canada and US Operations, Goldcorp; Chris Cormier, General Manager of Porcupine Mines, Goldcorp; Steve Deck, Regional Vice President, North America, Boart Longyear; Dominique Dionne, Vice President Corporate Affairs, Xstrata Nickel; George Flumerfelt, President and CEO, J.S. Redpath Ltd.; Michael Gravelle, Minister, Northern Development, Mining and Forestry, Ontario; Ingrid Hann, Vice President, Human Resources, De Beers Canada; Alanna Heath, Director of Government Affairs, Barrick Gold Corporation; Brian Hinchcliffe, President and CEO, Kirkland Lake Gold; Donna Kirkpatrick, Group Leader - Claims, Vale; Eric Kohtakangas, Vice President Operations, Cementation; Donovan Pollitt, President and CEO, Wesdome Gold Mines; Larry Sparks, Human Resources Manager, Omya Canada; Michael Winship, Chief Operating Officer, Quadra FNX Mining; Steve Wood, Vice President and Department Director, Mining and Milling, North Atlantic Region, Vale; as well as the hosts of the evening: Marc Boissonneault, Vice President of Xstrata Nickel's Sudbury Operations and Chairman of the Ontario Mining Association Board of Directors; and Chris Hodgson, Ontario Mining Association President.

The So You Think Know Mining contest is a success because of the collective financial and moral support of Ontario Mining Association members. We gratefully acknowledge the support of the companies listed in the video below:

Last but not least, we would like to acknowledge the awesome staff at the Royal Ontario Museum, who helped us to organize a truly memorable evening.

Most of all, thank you to the competitors, teachers, parents and online voters - everyone who gave their time, showcased their talent and made the story of Ontario mining their own. Thank you!