Best Overall Entry

These Moments

Brittany Nguyen
Resurrection Catholic Secondary School

$5,000 Prize, plus $500 to Resurrection Catholic Secondary School, Kitchener

Best Directing

Reporting Live

Stefani Pockaj
Jean Vanier Catholic High School

$2,500 Prize

Best Writing (Original Screenplay)

Me, Myself and I

Wellington Sanipe
St. Joseph Catholic High School

$2,500 Prize

Best Music (Original Score & Lyrics)

Expand Your Mines

Cody Lam
Northview Heights Secondary School

$2,500 Prize

Best Comedy

The Office Tries SYTYKM

Ava Chiu
Don Mills Collegiate Institute

$2,500 Prize

Best Video in a Language Other Than English

Webequie, Mining, Hockey

Dixon Wapoose
Simon Jacob Memorial High School

$2,500 Prize

Best Animation


Sorrah Han
A.Y. Jackson Secondary School

$2,500 Prize

Teachers' Choice Award

We Are All Mined

Grace Gahore
Resurrection Catholic Secondary School

 $2,500 Prize. Teachers who vote to select the winner in this category are eligible to win $1,000 for their school through a random draw.

OMA Academy Award

Best 30 Second Commercial

Supplying For a Better Future

Lucas Bradley
Blessed Trinity Secondary

$2,500 Prize for OMA Academy Award
$2,500 Prize for Best 30 Second Commercial 

Honourable Mention 

Mining From A Plurality Of Viewpoints

Ridwan Howlader
Danforth Collegiate & Technical Institute

$500 Honorarium or filming the 2014 SYTYKM Awards Ceremony, plus $500 to Danforth Collegiate & Technical Institute, Toronto

1st Runner Up Best Video

Suitable For Miners

Myles Torrens
H.B. Beal Secondary School

$2,500 Prize

2nd Runner Up Best Video

The Answer

Michael Norris
Hillcrest High School

$2,500 Prize

People's Choice Award

Alien Invasion - Mining

Katherine Bei
A.Y. Jackson Secondary School

$2,500 Prize.
This video received 1,999 out of a total of 5,855 votes by the public.

2014 Award Ceremony

The sixth annual SYTYKM Awards Ceremony was held at the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto. Ridwan Howlader, a student at Danforth Tech in Toronto, and his schoolmates: Nobu Chern-WarwickPrasad SrikugathasanMitchell Skarupa, and Sabbir Hossaina, whose entry received hounourable mention in the competition, documented all the glitz and glamour in the video posted below. 

In addition to the prizes listed above, there were bonus ones determined by random draw:  the $500 Early Bird Prize went to Jimmy Nguyen, a student at Sir Wilfrid Laurier Secondary School in London, while Woodstock Collegiate Institute in Woodstock became the 3+ School Random Draw Winner, receiving $2,000 toward the purchase of audiovisual equipment. Peter Tipold, a teacher at Jean Vanier Catholic High School in Collingwood, and a member of the Teachers' Academy, which selected the winner of the inaugural Teachers' Choice Award, won $1,000 for his school in a random draw held during the awards ceremony.

Thank you!

We are exceedingly grateful to the dedicated members of the SYTYKM volunteer judging panel for the passion and integrity that they bring to evaluating the efforts of our contestants. Without their professional objectivity and expertise, this competition would not be what it is. Thank you to Christina Blizzard, a veteran reporter and columnist for Sun Media; John Coulbourn, theatre, film and arts critic; James Cullingham, an award winning documentary filmmaker and the journalism program coordinator at Seneca College; Peter Fuchs, Director of Corporate Affairs at Glencore; Katrina Gligorijevic, film critic and creative consultant at REEL Canada; Joanne Kearney, Vice President of  Smithcom, a communications agency specializing in corporate affairs and marketing communications.

A special thank you to members of the Peer Review teamJad Abi RafehCarl Alvares and Mark McDonald. They did a superb job of pre-screening all the videos and providing helpful commentary to the judges.

We were once again dazzled by the star power of the award ceremony presenters. Thank you to Marc Boissonneault, Vice President, Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations, Glencore; Erin Carey, Teacher, Don Mills Collegiate Institute; Robert Closner, Regional General Counsel - North America, Boart Longyear; George Flumerfelt, President and CEO, J.S. Redpath, Ltd.; Peter Fuchs, Director of Corporate Affairs, Glencore; Peter Larsen,Vice President Environment, Health and Safety, Sandvik Mining; Marc Lauzier, General Manager, Porcupine Gold Mines, Goldcorp; Andy Lloyd, Vice President, Communications, Barrick Gold; Tess Lofsky, Vice President, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary at North American Palladium; Peter MacPhail, Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice President, AuRico Gold; Tony Makuch, President & CEO, Lake Shore Gold; Melanie Martin, Senior Executive Assistant and Regional Communications Leader, Goldcorp; Cory McPhee, Vice President, Corporate Affairs, Vale; Duncan Middlemiss, President and Chief Executive, St Andrew Goldfields; Rachel Pineault, Vice-President of Human Resources and Aboriginal Affairs, Detour Gold; Tom Semadeni, General Manager, Kidd Operations, Glencore; Larry Sparks, Human Resources Manager, Omya Canada; Steve Thomas, Chief Financial Officer, De Beers Canada; as well as the hosts of the evening: Kelly Strong, Vice President, Ontario/UK Operations, Vale, and Chair of the Ontario Mining Association Board of Directors; and Chris Hodgson, Ontario Mining Association President.

We appreciate the work of Nancy Duquet-Harvey, Environmental Coordinator at AuRico Gold, who created a unique calendar for SYTYKM Award Ceremony guests, featuring her photographs of Ontario mining operations, as well as Northern Ontario portraits and landscapes. Nancy hails from Kirkland Lake, Ontario, and is passionate about her work in the mining industry, and about photography.

We would also like to acknowledge the awesome staff at the Royal Ontario Museum, who helped us to organize a truly memorable evening. 

Thank you to the competitors, teachers, parents and online voters - everyone who gave their time, showcased their talent and made the story of Ontario mining their own.

So You Think Know Mining is a success because of the collective financial and moral support of Ontario Mining Association members. We gratefully acknowledge the support of the companies listed in the video below.